Tango as a Metaphor for Life

Once upon a time, before the economic downturn, before the marriage, the divorce, the huge life changing move, the wandering in the career desert, the one woman show, the epic love affair, the devastating break-up, the rock bottom of grief, and the signs of recovery, I WAS a TANGO DANCER!

Last night, I remembered. Last night I danced. Last night a once lost part of my Spirit returned to rest in the void I created when, in the folly of youth, I abandoned my deep love of dancing. Thank you, Argentine Tango, for staying true while I strayed! Besos y abrazos to all of the dancers who keep Tango alive! May the art form continue as long as humans walk the earth! xoxoxo

Last night’s return to the dance reminded me of an OLD blog post from July 6th, 2008.  I thought I’d share a bit of it here.  Though much has changed, including some major life views and how I’m now choosing to move through the world, some things remain constant, including these early observations of Tango as a metaphor for life.

TANGO AS A METHAPHOR FOR LIFE

So many of the lessons I learn as a new Argentine Tango dancer translate into my life, which is why I say Argentine Tango is a Spiritual Practice for me, as I know it is for a growing group of my Tango friends.

To linger on past missteps is to make more missteps. If I stumble or cause discord with my partner, the ONLY way to recover and dance freely is to LET IT GO immediately.

What is past is gone.
To anticipate what is coming, breaks the connection.
To force my will blocks the flow.

Argentine Tango is a practice of being true to only the present moment. Since it is improvisational, I must listen intently to my partner, and to my own body, in the NOW.I have seen this time and time again with my life experiences. When I let myself wander away from present, and stop listening to my connection with my higher self, I make some kind of misstep, which causes a glitch in the flow of my life’s dance.  I sometimes feel a sense of melancholy when this happens.  It’s like having #ConsciousnessNarcolepsy.  The sadness comes from thoughts which often have nothing to do with the present moment.

In the deepest experience of being present, there is no pain. There is only the witness of what is unfolding right NOW.

Argentine Tango, and Life at it’s best, operates most effectively from the space of present moment mindfulness (and heart-fulness), letting go of attachment to what just happened, or what might happen, living fully present and intentionally in the now.

As a relatively new dancer, I have much to learn, which I see as a gift. How I embrace my limitations as a dancer is similar to how I embrace my level of development as a human being.

When I focus on the lack of experience and judge myself, I suffer. But when I graciously embrace the process of my present state of being, I give myself fully as an offering of to the dance, which can only be a service to my partner, the dance, and Life itself.

Besos y Abrazos!
xoxo
Leela
Screen Shot 2016-01-26 at 8.20.54 AM
Happy feet on a happy day at a beach near San Luis Obispo, CA.

 

Leave a Reply

