Is there more to this China’s Web Addiction treatment than meets the eye?

Treatment for “internet addiction” in China includes a mix of therapy and MILITARY drills, which often lasts three to four months.

I understand the therapy… but military drills? Is there more to this China’s Web Addiction treatment than meets the eye? Are any of these youth here under a false diagnosis? One young man seems to believe so, as he protests he is not addicted to the internet, from his upper bunk bed in the treatment facility which seems to be occupied primarily if not completely by young males, “I don’t believe it.”

This story has stayed with me for days. These children are in my thoughts as I wonder what might really be going on behind the walls of this treatment facility when there are no cameras.

This story won’t leave me alone.  One young man said, “When we arrived at this facility, I felt there was something sinister about this place and tried to leave, but the drillmasters dragged me in.”  His words echo for me.

I feel so small today with so many big challenges in the world.

Sending Love –
Leela

Leave a Reply

