Christmas Morning Contemplation

This Christmas morning, curled on the couch in my ultra soft bath robe, I was drawn to the attached video on Hulu.com. It sparked a lot of thought, and an internal conversation began.

The rabbit hole of thinking was sparked at 7:01 on the video. From the ancient text “The Revelation of the Magi,” as translated from the original text in Syriac by Brent Landau, “As excited as they (the Magi) were, Christ tells them, this is one of many occasions on which I have appeared to the peoples of the world.” Landau says the text may be saying there are no non-Christian religions because Christ is the revelation behind everything. That in every religion is Christ.

I appreciate Landau’s dedication to biblical history, and I have a slightly different revelation of the text he shares. When Jesus, The Christ says, “one of many occasions on which I have appeared to the world,” his words could easily have meant that ‘this Presence you are now witnessing as a Divine expression of the Source of all, which connects us all, beyond the many religious expressions in the world, has come before me many times. I am simply another example of what is possible when human beings embrace the path of knowing G-d as an indwelling Presence expressing through their lives.’

The Christ was embodied by the man we know as Jesus, yes, and… he tried to tell us that we too can embody The Christ when we open ourselves to the miracle of believing in our inherent connection with The Divine, when we believe we can do even greater works than Jesus was able to demonstrate in his time on earth.

In the King James Version (Not my favorite, but the gold standard for many fundamentalists) John 14:12, “Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that believeth in me, the works that I do shall he do also; and greater works than these shall he do; because I go unto my Father.” From the NIV “I tell you the truth, anyone who has faith in me will do what I have been doing. He will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father.”

In other words, I am going to the Source of my Being. I am going to God, and whoever does the same, embodies Good, and miracles even greater than what I’ve been able to express will continue to unfold, because God is limitless. In other words, Jesus is reminding the people that we too are children of God, which would make Jesus our sibling, not an unreachable, alien, solitary expression of The Divine expressing through human form. He is to be the example, not the exception.

In Psalm 82:6 from the New International Version of the Bible, teacher Jesus reminds us again 6 “I said, ‘You are “gods”; you are all sons of the Most High.’ The King James Version of the same text reads, 6 I have said, Ye are gods; and all of you are children of the most High.”

When did we forget this? And why? Was it to run from the responsibility of allowing the “Christ Light” to shine through us as our Divine birthright to illuminate the world? Was it to put the weight of the world on the shoulders of one man, Jesus, so we could have an excuse to play small in the world? That is what children do. “It’s not my turn to take out the trash, it’s my brother’s turn. Besides he’s stronger, so it should just be his job all of the time.” Or, do we fail to see the Divinity within us because our self-esteem as a human race has been so low, we can not see what this wise One was able to see for us?

Jesus saw beyond the conditions of our human behaviors and beliefs into the smallest particle of who and what we are. He saw our Light. He saw our Oneness with the One, and the Truth of our potential. This is how he was able to Love people so purely and, as in Luke 23:34, “forgive them for they know not what they do.”

He didn’t buy the lie that we are separated from God. He didn’t identify with our lack of Spiritual Awareness and maturity to freeze us there in consciousness any more than we do with a child learning to walk. No matter how many times they fall, barring a physical impairment, we trust and know that they are simply growing and that one day they WILL be walking, as is their birthright. We don’t get angry or take it personally when they won’t follow our excellent example of walking. We just Love them, and see the truth of who they really are and what they will be able to accomplish beyond their current stage of development. Jesus saw that we “will do even greater things than these” miracles he performed.

He knew that he was tapping into a level of consciousness available to everyone willing to open to it. It is written in John 14:6, ““I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” In other words, I am showing you a way of being, based in truth and Light, and if you choose to follow this path, you will understand that what you are at the core of your being is everlasting, beyond this physical life. And that no one comes to this liberating realization except through Love, except through connecting with our Oneness in the Source of all creation.

Why then do some call it blasphemy when one who walks among us shares insight which reminds us that we are all expressions of God, all Divine, all meant to be the Light of the World?” In Psalms 82:6, Jesus is reported to have said “I have said, Ye are gods; and all of you are children of the most High.”

This could mean that the “second coming of The Christ” has already occurred, and continues to occur whenever we recognize what Jesus so easily recognized within us, and himself. If that resonates as blasphemous with some, may they consider John 10 from the King James Version “32Jesus answered them, Many good works have I showed you from my Father; for which of those works do ye stone me?

33The Jews answered him, saying, For a good work we stone thee not; but for blasphemy; and because that thou, being a man, makest thyself God.

34Jesus answered them, Is it not written in your law, I said, Ye are gods?

35If he called them gods, unto whom the word of God came, and the scripture cannot be broken;

36Say ye of him, whom the Father hath sanctified, and sent into the world, Thou blasphemest; because I said, I am the Son of God?

37If I do not the works of my Father, believe me not.

38But if I do, though ye believe not me, believe the works: that ye may know, and believe, that the Father is in me, and I in him.”

My intention with this writing, which was unplanned and simply flowed through me on this Christmas morning of 2010 after watching a clip about the Magi on the internet, is to celebrate the birth and Life of The Christ, both The Christ we know as the man Jesus, and the Christ which dwells within us all.

May we continually discover the Spiritual teachings of old and present day with the mind of a learning beginner, so we may gain deeper insight and truly allow these ancient texts to be a “living word,” continually expanding as our perception deepens.

Namaste’

Love.

Leela

Leave a Reply

