The Next Chapter

If you haven’t picked up a copy of the July Issue of Science of Mind Magazine, I hope you’ll get one today so you can get to know my friend Robbi Firestone. There is a full feature on her which starts on page 80. The author of the piece….Leela Vox Anderson. It should have read Leela Vox Alexander… that’s me. =) Ah well, as Shakespeare wrote, “What’s in a name?”

The voting period for the Oprah Winfrey Network contest has come to a close, and I couldn’t be more grateful for what we have been able to accomplish, finishing the voting period with 618,145 votes in 39th place out of 9,504 online entries. WAY TO GO!!  Your support of my dreams means more to me than you may ever know.

In addition to the 9,504 online video entries, there were thousands of live auditions around the country. Out of those entries, 10 will be chosen to move into the final round to have their own show on the OWN. I’ll let you know as soon as I know something definite.

I’ve learned so much in these past weeks. I know my life is richer for the experience, and I couldn’t have done it without YOU. THANK YOU for participating! Because of you, I see how important it is to “put it out there,” and follow a dream.

I will no longer be sending out the mass Facebook emails unless I have some big news to share, or need to communicate with you all at once.  If you have enjoyed my messages on Facebook, I invite you to subscribe to this free blog. You’ll get an email update letting you know each time I post a new entry. Whether or not we end up on The Oprah Winfrey Network, Life With Leela is just getting started!

This week, I’ll be sharing videos created along the campaign trail, including a short interview with local author, Linnie Thomas, author of The Encyclopedia of Energy Medicine, and the fun NTCSL “Flashmob dancers” who created a dance for YouTube, just to help generate votes for Life With Leela!

Today, as I stand in the mystery of Life, open to the next wave of inspiration and focused action, I send you Love and great Gratitude. Know that I am cheering for you in the pursuit of your dreams. Please let me know how I may support YOU!

Love,

Leela

P.S. You can see more of Robbi’s work on her website. She’s a wonderful artist, philanthropist, and friend. Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “The Next Chapter

  1. Alison Hilber

    Leela, I read the entire interview with Robbie today, and immediately unearthed my vision journal, and played with it for three hours today! It was very fun to do fun for the fun of it! Thank you so much, and do give my love to Ms. Anderson! love you lots, alison xo

  2. M'Liss

    I already miss voting for you! I had acquired quite a habit! So now I’ll just think of you and send warm thought, hugs, and prayers!

  3. Nicole Grider

    Hello Again, Leela!

    I believe you stored my number in your cell phone as Nashville Nicole, which still thrills me to no end! : ) Just wanted to tell you that I highly enjoyed meeting you and all of the great Premier folks around Nashville during the CMA Music Fest.

    I’m still working on turning the man’s world we both work in upside down with grace, talent, poise and class – and it’s good to see that you are as well.

    Keep it up and have a great day!

    Nicole

    1. Hi Nicole! It really was a pleasure meeting you in Music City. I know great good is flowing through your life. If you want to be inspired in the “man’s world” you mention, check out my new Program Director, Chris Mays at 101.9 KINK.FM in Portland. She is proof that we need to ditch the idea of “man’s world” or “woman’s world,” and just focus on being the best we can at work that is fueled by personal passion.

      When I started in this business in 1989, I didn’t know of ANY female PDs. By 1999 and 2009, I had never worked for a female PD. Today, in 2011, I’m meeting so many empowered, bright, effective women in broadcasting, which is inspiring me on a deep level. The “good old boys” club now admits women… and we owe it to the pioneers who helped open the door to “punch a hole in the Universe” and step, even more fully, into our AUTHENTIC power.

      Follow the yellow brick road… or at least this link to be inspired by a strong woman, and remember that you have had the power all along. =)
      INDUSTRY COVER STORY ON CHRIS MAYS:
      http://www.fmqb.com/article.asp?id=2107868

      WOMEN IN RADIO
      http://www.distinguishedwomen.com/biographies/remembering.html

      http://www.bookrags.com/tandf/female-radio-personalities-and-disk-tf/ (Haven’t read this one yet.. it’s late and bed time, so I’ll check it out tomorrow.)

      From Biography.com
      SPINNING DISKS FOR A MAJOR RADIO STATION:
      Alison Steele: In 1966, Steele went on the air at WNEW in New York City, where she became the first female radio disk jockey. Known as “the nightbird,” Steele proved herself a knowledgeable promoter of progressive rock and her show remained one of the most popular radio programs until 1979.

      GO GET ‘EM NICOLE! =)

Leave a Reply

