Having Our Way with Time

Studies have shown, that which we chart or track, improves. This is great news! It means we can take the first step in improving any area of our lives, simply by beginning to follow a schedule, and chart our progress.

I know many successful people have said it, and I am not the first, but it bears repeating. Keeping a schedule helps you reach your goals. I find that having a daily schedule is imperative for getting the most from, and giving the most to my day.

Though I am a loyal Apple computer user, and crush on the brilliance of Steve Jobs, I’m also a fan of what Bill Gates has been able to accomplish. He says, “If you want to both work hard and play hard, then you have to have a schedule.”

Franklin Covey Planner

I set my own schedule for the most part, and have learned the hard way how easy it is to let time have it’s way with me, rather than the other way around.  It’s amazing how much we can pack into 24 hours, including rest and fun, when we get on a schedule.

The first step is to make a list of priorities. For me, it begins with my personal sense of well being on a daily basis. Body, Mind, and Spirit are top priorities for me, so I have them at the top of my list.

I have learned to consolidate how to honor all of these with a morning practice that includes, breathing, stretching, envisioning my day, stretching my mind to accept greater realities for my Life, and taking quiet time to commune with The Divine.

I woke up this morning with a new thought. It seems simple, but I’ve seen how easy it is to allow an entire day or few to pass without even thinking about updating my social media. I realized this morning, that in the current model of successful marketing, I must actually schedule my tweets, Facebook updates, and blog posts, because those activities have yet to become a natural part of my thinking.  By scheduling them into my day, I can actually shift into a person who thinks of social media often.

We are so blessed to live in this era of technology! It’s amazing how easy it is to connect via the Internet, even while traveling. But we have to THINK about it to do it.

I was in Las Vegas this last weekend, and didn’t Tweet, Facbook, or blog once because I was so caught up in the moments in front of me, and the work at hand. When I wasn’t working, I was taking in the warm weather. The last thing on my mind, which should have been one of my top priorities, was logging onto my social media sites and connecting with… YOU. Lesson learned.

Today, I have set iPhone notifications to remind me to Tweet, Facebook, and Blog because staying connected with YOU is one of my new top priorities. If I drop the ball again, feel free to call me on it! Seriously. That’s the kind of relationship I want to have with my readers.

What items of agenda do you find at the top of your list of personal priorities? Are you finding it difficult or easy to squeeze them into your day? If you answered, “difficult,” then you might find how important a schedule can be in actually liberating our time, and making more of the time we are given.

In the past, I have used Franklin Covey planners and they are great. If you are looking for a system, and don’t want to spend any money, there are quite a few free ones available online.  I found this one this morning, and it looks pretty good. Also, the iPhone has a calendar built in that will allow you to repeat an event if you want to create a daily routine.  There area many options available, just pick the one that’s best for you.

Enjoy the day! And make sure to remember to take some time in the schedule for appreciating yourself, and sharing Love with someone you care about.

Love,

Leela

Leave a Reply

