The truth about “Country DJ,” Leela K.

As I contemplate the direction of my Life, wondering where all I have been is leading me, I find myself in awe of the complexities of twists and turns which have led me to this present moment, and often marvel at the life I am living in relation to the one I began in East TX over 3 decades ago.

One thing I have learned to do, is to listen to the voice within, which seems to be growing louder than the clanging noise of what the world would have me believe I am supposed to do.  Supposed to do?  According to whom, or what law?

Ralph Waldo Emerson, whom I affectionately call “Grandpa Ralph,” said, “There is a time in every man’s education when he arrives at the conviction that envy is ignorance; that imitation is suicide; that he must take himself for better, for worse, as his portion; that though the wide universe is full of good, no kernel of nourishing corn can come to him but through his toil bestowed on that plot of ground which is given to him to till.”

So I ask, in ernest, “What ground is mine to till?”

I have spent a career tilling the soil of working as a disc-jocky in country music radio, and the effort has left me sitting in what feels like a barren crop, exhausted from the effort, both financially and emotionally.  I feel ready to lay down my plow in this dusty ground, and surrender that old life for something new.

It scares the bejeezus out of me, as forging a new frontier must have scared those who came west to help settle America, but they were driven beyond their fear toward broader horizons, as I am now driven to nurture “that plot of ground which is given to me to till.”  From my current understanding, that ground is to support the potential in each of us to, as Oprah says, “Live our best Lives.”

As much as I Love, and I do mean LOVE the country audience which has embraced me, it seems it is time to plant my seeds in more fertile ground, since I have not been able to make a professional living in country since the CBS company layoffs of 2008.

I welcome management who can catch my vision of creating broadcasting that makes a real difference in the lives of listeners who are ready to create positive change in our world, which we all know, truly begins within.

The idea for my new show is, “Life with Leela – Conscious Conversation & Music for a Better Life.”  It is designed to be “non-toxic” radio where listeners  feel empowered and uplifted by cool music and life enriching guests.  Click here for a demo.  Where it will land, is still being revealed, but it has become clear to me that this is what I am here to do.

Some have said, “Why not go work at a Christian radio station?”  My answer is that though my own personal faith has come from Christianity, I do understand that there are those who need to be uplifted without connection to religious dogma, because many are still licking personal wounds inflicted on them by religious abuse and misuse of power. Besides, the lines of religious divisions, have so often caused pain for humanity, and I feel compelled to unite us beyond their borders.

I currently work for a “groundbreaking” new radio company, Alpha Broadcasting in Portland, Oregon. I respect the owner, Mr. Larry Wilson, for what he’s been able to accomplish in the business of radioand from what little time I’ve spent with him, I like him.  He seems like a genuinely nice guy.

He makes good business decisions and has surrounded himself with those known for their radio “business savvy” in generating revenue, but in the year 2010, we must acknowledge multiple bottom lines, and make a stand for the social responsibility that comes with the power of what we broadcast into a radio microphone.  Healthy business considers multiple bottom lines.

I’d love to find a way to do this show with Alpha Broadcasting, but  with little response from my Program Director, I have begun to considering other options, like  OPB, NPR, An XM/Sirius channel, etc.

I’ve been feeling quite alone in my quest to create this show, so I’m letting it all out today…just in case you have any insight or suggestions to offer.

I’m grateful for leads and connections to help get this show up and running LIVE somewhere NOW. The demo is just a start. It’ll only get better from here.

My thoughts and prayers are with all who have lost their jobs over the past year and a half.  It has been devastating for many businesses, including radio, but those with the will to to go on WILL find a way. And so we continue to plow flow forward; this time in more fertile ground.

Happy New Year & Many Blessings,

Leela Vox Alexander

7 thoughts on “The truth about “Country DJ,” Leela K.

      1. OK, so that was a moment of fear talking. I’m not giving up on broadcasting… just learning to surrender to this new chapter of my life.

  1. Charlie

    I know it’s frustrating, Leela, not having found your appropriate venue. But, wow, have you found a genuine voice!

    If I didn’t have the great good fortune to know personally how beautiful you are, I would know it just from listening — both the content and the delivery.

    Maybe broadcast radio is going the same way as newspapers — replaced by on-line, on-demand, self-selected media content. But a world that has a place for an Ellen Kushner and a Krista Tippett has got to have a place for Leela Vox.

    It’s hard to know what to put on the iPod for walking or exercising. I don’t put Harry Moses or even NTCSL on there, but I do put on Speaking of Faith, Sound and Spirit, Alan Watts. And I sure would put on Leela Vox!

    How to turn that into a living wage is an interesting challenge, but not an impossible one. I’ll send you a link tomorrow when I find it that might help direct the thinking.

  2. Hi Leela- My good friend Jeff Tracy has quite a bit of experience in radio and has had a show (Horseman’s World was the name I think) syndicated in about 145 stations. He also had a National Finals Rodeo program for years until sponsoship became more of a challenge. He no longer does either of these but I am sure would be quite happy to provide a sounding board if you need one.

    As you know I make my living online so I get lots of my subscribers asking me how to start an online business and if their idea, (fill in the blank), is a good one. My answer is always the same. Before you start your business, make sure you have a hungry audience. Online that’s fairly easy to do as you can do key word research to see how many folks are looking for a similar product each day. Too many folks begin and believe they can create their audience. That rarely works. So as great as your idea might seem to you, you’ll need to convince some other folks of that also. To my way of thinking ( I know zippo about radio) if you came to a program director and brought several advertisers with you who believe enough in your new product to sign contracts for ads, you’re in! Might be 2-4AM but that’s how Wolfman Jack started, right?

    Let me know if I can help! You’re the best!

    Ron

    1. Thank you, Ron.
      I’ve been working with an SEO, http://www.KyleWhitford.com, brainstorming ideas. And still I find that “business” and “sales” is out of my comfort zone.
      I’ve always just shown up as the talent while a corporation handled all of the details. Times are rapidly changing, and adaptation is crucial.
      Already, it looks like a couple of avenues might be opening for me, which feels good.
      I’m open to your thoughts. Thank you for being the wonderful person you are!
      If you see the best in me, it is only a reflection of the best in you.

Leave a Reply

