Day 10 of The Work – Upsetting the Apple Cart

What a day! Church was AMAZING this morning with the integration of two churches under one roof to become an even more dynamic community of inclusive, loving, expressions of God. Wow. The service was packed with great music, and a wonderful message by my husband, David. (You can access his blog by clicking here.)

Here’s a portion of what we experienced this morning. Spirit was in da house! LaRhonda Steele and the NTCSL House Band BROUGHT IT!  Gary Skye & The Walkers were wonderful during the meditation song, (I’ll have video soon) the choir was fantabulous, and the community was radiant. A fine Sunday!

One of my choir mates said, “Leela, you upset my apple cart.” She was straight faced, so I wondered what I’d done. Then she softened, “I went to your blog and checked out that Byron Katie work, and it’s got me rethinking a lot of things. Kind of scary.”

I smiled, “I know.”

We talked about relationships, personal responsibility, and how transformational it is to realize our own part in the unfolding of our Lives.

She was gracious and kind, letting me know she appreciated me sharing my own process in a public way. I am humbled to have been of service.

When I began this journey, it was for my own healing. I posted it online with the thought, “If just one person finds this useful, then it’s worth it to share.”  Today, she made three folks now who’ve let me know The Work is helping them, and I’m so Grateful.

So, to further “upset the apple cart,” check out the following video.

Watching this video, I found myself remembering some times when I’ve blamed someone, or gotten angry at them, for telling me a truth about myself I wasn’t quite ready to face. What was your experience? Are there parts with which you resonate, “yes”? Moments you resist? I’d love to hear your thoughts.

6 thoughts on “Day 10 of The Work – Upsetting the Apple Cart

  1. Leela, this was stunning. Great to remember that we don’t eliminate negative thinking by eliminating negativity in the world, we just take everything in a positive spin. Find the positive in everything, and you eliminate negativity in your world. Brilliant. I haven’t looked at Byron Katie’s work in years, and I thank you for bringing it back into the realm of possibility. You are truly a gift and I love you very much.
    Alison xo

  2. Paula

    OK, so I’m taking it in small chunks. Today I begin by questioning. If I notice a negative thought, I ask “why” or “tell me more” — and all the sting (or added meaning) falls away. I think I’ve been spending my time psychoanalyzing myself instead of just simply asking “why.”

    How’s that for a start?

    1. You’re brilliant, Paula. I just saw your comment. Thank you for forgiving the long delay in response.

      Since I’m no longer working every day at the radio station, I’ll be checking in and contributing on a more regular basis with the “Life With Leela” family. To be true, I didn’t realize that it was making any kind of difference to anyone, but i have recently been informed differently :D.

      I’m with you. I’ve spent a lot of time (and money) analyzing myself, my motivations, my purpose… etc… which is all good and valid. AND… now that I’ve discovered the simple act of asking, “Is it true?” I see how a simple perspective shift, can make all the difference in the world.

      I have been far from perfect in my “loving what is” experiment, but I’ve made great personal progress, and that is a beautiful start.

      Blessings to you!
      L

Leave a Reply

